Finding purpose

I’ve been really struggling to keep up with my documentation (an important responsibility that comes with being a therapist), so if you see a dip in my posts, I’m attempting to prioritize my time. Just warning my readers and trying my best to mentally compartmentalize. I’ve given some background on my work history and career as a therapist on a previous blog or two.

In my last published blog, I took a flying leap into a deeply personal area of my life where I admit flaws and talk about a painful experience, which shows that just like all of you-I’m human. Although I rarely discuss this, I’m no different than any single reader, whether you know me or not. It might be natural to feel shame related to this particular chapter of my story but it is crucial to include it because of its significant impact on me as a person. In some ways it is a badge of honor to show others that even a respected professional can fall. That crucial part I mentioned is that I *actually* stood up and climbed back up out of my own dark despair.

I know that I was clearly interpreting a message that I believed was God and discussed it in detail, but I don’t want to cause confusion about what steps were made after that moment. I knew that I had an overwhelming challenge ahead of me and zero experience in accomplishing something this important.

For years I provided therapy to individuals who struggled and learned to maintain long-term sobriety. I knew it could be done. But by me? The party girl? The one that lived for the moment!? Not for the future or the past? Wait. I was carrying my own child. I decided I want to start living for the future because I wanted to be the best possible mother and stepmother I could be.

The rest is history. *wink*

Leave a comment