Are you being your most authentic self?

For my readers that are also therapists, you know that we strive for authenticity and help our clients reach their own most genuine self. I try to model that boldness, being unapologetically authentic at all times but most importantly for my clients.

I find that so much of how others act when behaving badly comes from insecurity in self. I do a TON of reframing using cognitive behavioral therapy with my clients as a way to use positive thinking and retrain our brain to think positive in a world of negativity!

As I’m reflecting on what negative messages I gain from the world around me, and where this negative thinking stems from, I tend to consistently see social media as a root cause.

Think of the messages young people with less life experience get from social media. It’s a sad, shallow, empty way to feel immediate gratification from cute selfies to posting things that garner negative feedback and most of all – attention!

If you have young children or teens, you are forced to see this from a parent’s perspective which typically scares me to death! Because WE as adults know the big secret: it’s NOT real!

Growing up in an age of no social media, (yes I am in my thirties) and less technology than now, we’re given a good comparison. There was no way to lose our focus on who we are and how we present to the world.

Now you can portray whatever you want the world to believe you are.

What an incredible concept!

Create a form of yourself and present that version to the world.

If you have social media, take just a minute to consider what you’re posting on a regular basis. Do you post about your arguments with your spouse?

I don’t. I have more respect for the person I truly love and share my life, heart, children and bed with.

I have seen some pretty negative stuff on Facebook or Twitter and typically it’s very immature children or people that behave like children. But for the most part, we’re probably all likely attempting to paint a pretty picture of our life. Again, some take that to a totally different level when you present a facade to others but most people I believe just choose to post the selfie that DOESN’T show their wrinkles. *raises hand* I know I do!

Of course, the millions of models, celebrities and professionals sharing only photos of their best attributes shows an extremely unrealistic expectation to our kids: perfection.

How about the options of being positive, being optimistic? Being honest and loving?

Supportive yet firm and assertive? Does this make you “fake”? I don’t think so. I think being positive is more important than being hateful or attacking others.

If that’s the case, then it sounds like a pretty good idea for you to participate in your own therapy to find authentic goodness in yourself!

How about you? Are you being authentic or fake online?

And as always: what it’s all about! My loves!

Xoxo

Leave a comment