Sexual deviance…

My very first job in the mental health field was in a residential facility for juvenile sex offenders.

It was actually my favorite clinical population over all of my years in a variety of settings, plus it was my inspiration to obtain my master’s degree in counseling psychology; which I subsequently earned as I worked there.

Due to my choice in career, I was able to have specialized training in a unique area! I also happened to be young and very optimistic, as well as a little naive of the world. This specific population truly fascinated me because I was building real relationships with seemingly normal children, although if you were to read their charts you’d see something very different. On paper, those reading would easily identify them as monsters.

I know that this is not accurate and through my experience, education and training I recognize juvenile sex offenders as much more complex than what the public would consider them.

This is why I’m blogging about a rather bizarre topic. As a therapist, I am expected to be as knowledgeable as possible in areas that would be helpful for my clients and their families. That’s a considerable amount of general knowledge. We also have a responsibility to our clients and our profession to be mindful of continuing that learning process. In order to provide the most valuable psychotherapy on any topic, we need to research, learn by reading and consulting others about information related to our current clients.

I found several different definitions for specific words that we’re discussing in this blog. I’ll do my best to pick the simplest explanation and cite it correctly!

Paraphilia: a condition in which sexual gratification comes from activities or fantasies that are generally “atypical”, meaning different and sometimes dangerous – includes several, transvestic fetishism, frotteurism, pedophilia, exhibitionism, voyeurism, sexual masochism and sadism, and even others.

Just because someone could enjoy a sexual activity that would be considered different or unique from the rest of the world, does not mean that have a paraphilia. This is actually a condition and is usually diagnosable due to it’s specific criteria.

Here’s the crucial information – NOT ALL SEX OFFENDERS, perpetrators of sexual crimes or the  victims of sexual abuse are considered sexual deviants. This is usually where I find that our society gets confused.

This is important to remember if you wonder why I would choose to work with “pedophiles” – or why I would even believe that juvenile sex offenders could change. Because THEY’RE NOT ONE IN THE SAME.

I’m wondering what are your beliefs about sex offenders or those under investigation for sexual crimes, or even just youth receiving treatment for this? (Sometimes they’ve only been accused or need treatment but have not been charged. Therefore, it’s only treatment-based and individuals would not be legally considered “sex offenders”.)

Do you believe that sex offenders can change? Most of the public believes that offenders do not change, or are considered repeat (or chronic) offenders. Despite what the media portrays, the research actually shows that most sex offenders are “cured”, (I’d never assume anyone is cured, that’s crazy) but they do not offend again after treatment. Actually to be exact in the most recent meta-analysis shows that only 10% re-offends after completing treatment.

I’m excited to continue my research in this area to help my current clients.

I LOVE this stuff! What areas do you feel passionate about?

Sources