My family, my heart.

I had a blog about 10 years ago or so, I believe back when I was in grad school. I kept it fairly superficial… Nothing too vulnerable in effort to avoid being dangerously open with strangers. Of course writing about shallow topics manages to hide negative parts of your life. I went through a lot before I had my baby and I’m still experiencing the positive effects of my dramatic lifestyle change. Even several years later…

I go well below surface topics with this blog. I’m still learning what I feel safe posting and this is probably why extended family members take issue with my blog at times.

I continue to remind myself that this is MY perception. No one else. I choose carefully to post less about my spouse and children, but keep my focus on my view including my role as a mom and therapist.

So as I experience challenges as a parent, I’m also placing effort in growing as a person and as a spouse. It’s not easy to compromise but when you love your family, you have an obligation to accept that you’re not the only one who has needs. That, in itself has been the most difficult process as well as the most remarkable for me.

Watching your spouse and children grow through those obstacles continues to give me the push to stay focused on our goal of raising our children the way we believe is best.

Sobriety and motherhood simultaneously, I’ve realized played a huge part in the mother I’ve become. I was not exactly committed to the idea of stepchildren when it was presented. I was also living a life far from what I truly wanted. It was just me and I had difficulty staying grounded. I was lying to myself about my happiness. I was terrified to actually devote myself to anyone and tried to hold my distance when I met the man that ultimately changed my life.

Fast forward to now and I’m still surprised when I feel such intensity about my family. I’ve never surprised myself more as a parent then in the past two years.

It’s almost like a twilight zone at times as I’ve been seeing such a strong parallel from my professional role and within my own family.

How do you handle your balance between your family and your career? Tips? Advice? I’m always open to learning new concepts to help improve the constant struggles of being a working mama!

Happy birthday to my favorite hunny, as well as my one and only dad, who were born on the same day, different years of course.

thank y’all for reading!

Xoxo

Amy {the inspired therapist}

Leave a comment